MD26097 - Plan Mid Devon Open Space, Allotment Play Area Study
Mid Devon District Council
- Value
- £25,000 to £30,000
- Currency
- GBP
- Region
- South West
- Category
- Construction & Infrastructure
- Procedure / notice type
- tender
- Published
- 1 Sept 2026
- Closing date
- 1 Oct 2026
- Contract ends
- Not stated
- Current supplier
- Not stated
Overview
1. Aims and objectives of the tender exercise To appoint a suitably qualified consultant through a fair, transparent and proportionate competitive process to prepare an updated Open Space, Play Area and Allotments Study for Plan Mid Devon. The commission will establish an up-to-date audit and baseline; identify quantitative, qualitative and accessibility deficiencies or surpluses; derive locally justified standards; assess growth options and site allocations; and provide practical policy, developer-contribution, infrastructure-delivery and long-term stewardship recommendations. The procurement also seeks value for money, timely delivery, robust and repeatable methodology, editable GIS and audit data, knowledge transfer, coordination with related evidence studies and outputs that remain usable following Local Government Reorganisation. 2. Description of the requirement and background to the procurement Mid Devon District Council is preparing Plan Mid Devon for the proposed period 2026-2046. The existing Plan Mid Devon Open Space & Play Area Strategy 2014-2033 is now out of date in relation to population data, policy, commitments, growth options, site quality, accessibility, play provision, stewardship and developer contributions. The emerging Local Plan must plan for healthy and inclusive communities alongside substantial housing growth. Current evidence identifies approximately 6,646 committed dwellings and a need for around 6,000 additional allocations, with growth distributed across Tiverton, Cullompton, Crediton and sustainable rural settlements. Updated evidence is needed to show current provision, local needs and the open-space, play and allotment requirements of this growth. The Study is deliberately distinct from a full Green Infrastructure Strategy, Playing Pitch Strategy or Built Facilities Strategy. It must coordinate with those evidence streams while avoiding duplication. It must also provide parish-, settlement- and district-level outputs suitable for future use by the proposed Exeter and Devon successor authorities. 3. What is being purchased and why The Council is purchasing specialist professional consultancy services covering data review; open-space and play audit; GIS mapping and network accessibility analysis; proportionate site visits; quality and value assessment; allotment demand evidence; standards development; growth and site-allocation assessment; area profiles; developer-contribution methodology; policy recommendations; action planning; and final publication-ready reports and editable datasets. External support is required because the work needs dedicated capacity and specialist expertise in Local Plan open-space evidence, play and allotment provision, site-audit methodology, GIS/accessibility modelling, standards, developer contributions, infrastructure planning and examination-ready policy evidence. Council officers will retain client management, local knowledge, engagement leadership and decision-making roles. 4. Procurement route, value and timetable The RFQ reference is MD26097. It proposes a single-stage competitive procedure under the regulated below-threshold provisions of the Procurement Act 2023. The maximum budget is £30,000 including VAT. Award will be based on 70% quality and 30% price, with published pass/fail participation requirements, quality criteria and a transparent fixed-fee cost breakdown. The intended contract period is November 2026 to June 2027. Internal approvals are programmed for the week commencing 26 October 2026, contract award for 13 November 2026 and service commencement/inception for 16 November 2026. 5. Decision-making and approvals The RFQ states that contract award is subject to the Council's formal approval process and that no contract will be entered into until all necessary approvals are obtained. The procurement is well below £1 million, so Corporate SLT and Cabinet approval is not indicated by the RFQ. Procurement and the budget holder should confirm the applic
Contract information is aggregated from public sources under the Open Government Licence and may be incomplete or out of date. Always verify details against the official published notice before bidding.
Analysis tools
What you can run here depends on your plan. Starter accounts get a taster, Pro and Business unlock the full set.
Match score
See how well this contract fits your company profile, scored 0 to 100 with a plain-English breakdown. Included with Pro and Business.
Create an accountTender X-Ray
A plain-English breakdown of this notice: what the buyer wants, the evaluation criteria and weightings, what you must prove, and what could disqualify you.
Analyse any tender free: create an accountHow you'll be scored
The buyer's scoring criteria and weightings for this notice, how well your profile covers each one, and which weighted gaps to close first. Included with Pro and Business.
Create an accountBid Co-Pilot
Paste a bid question and the Co-Pilot drafts an answer from your own company profile and Answer Library, scores it against the criterion, and lists the evidence you still need. It never invents clients, figures or certifications. Included with Pro and Business, with a monthly allowance.
Create an accountShould I bid?
A clear BID / CONSIDER / DO NOT BID verdict for this notice, with the reasons behind it. Included with Pro and Business.
Create an accountBid Pack for this contract
Get Bid Pack (£349)
An auto-generated draft bid document for this notice: a response to the stated requirements, a Social Value statement, a Modern Slavery policy statement, and an SQ-style company overview.
This is a strong starting draft, generated automatically from your inputs and the published notice. It is not a guaranteed winning submission. You are responsible for reviewing, finalising, and checking it against the buyer's full requirements before you submit.
One-off payment. Your draft is generated as soon as your payment is confirmed.
An automated first draft, not a guaranteed win. You are responsible for reviewing and finalising it.
Official notice
Purchase the Bid Pack to unlock the official notice for this contract. The Bid Pack includes the full notice link alongside your first-draft response.
See Bid Pack pricingContains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Source: Find a Tender / Contracts Finder / Public Contracts Scotland. 123 Tenders is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or acting on behalf of any buyer organisation named in these notices, and gives no guarantee as to accuracy or outcome.
