← Back to Browse Contracts
Energy & UtilitiesSouth EastSource: Find a Tender

Supply of HVO fuel to RRS Discovery and RRS James Cook September 2026

National Oceanography Centre

Value
Value not stated
Currency
GBP
Region
South East
Category
Energy & Utilities
Procedure / notice type
award,contract
Published
16 Sept 2026
Closing date
Not stated
Contract ends
22 Sept 2026

Overview

Supply of Hydrotreated Vegetable Oil (HVO) fuel to two National Oceanography Centre research vessels by way of two bunker deliveries at two ports on consecutive days. The contract is to be awarded to Standard Fuel Oils Limited as a single contract covering both deliveries, each performed against its own delivery reference. Delivery D-01: RRS Discovery (IMO No. 9588029). Estimated quantity 252 m³ (252,000 litres). Required delivery date 15 September 2026. Delivery D-02: RRS James Cook (IMO No. 9338242). Estimated quantity 430 metric tonnes, approximately 551,000 litres. Required delivery date 16 September 2026. Aggregate estimated quantity approximately 803,000 litres. All quantities are estimates. Payment will be made solely on the actual quantity delivered against each delivery reference, as evidenced by the Bunker Delivery Note for that delivery and by the actual density recorded on the Certificate of Analysis at 15 degrees Celsius. No minimum or maximum quantity is guaranteed and the contract value stated is therefore indicative. Delivery is by road tank wagon (RTW) to each vessel at its stated berth. The exact delivery window and operational hours for each delivery will be confirmed to the supplier in writing no later than five days before delivery. Fuel must comply with EN 15940 and must be derived from used cooking oil (UCO) feedstock only, with no palm oil, palm oil sludge, POME, or animal fats. Sulphur content must comply with MARPOL Annex VI and the applicable MCA requirements, at less than 5 mg/kg (5 ppm). Flash point must be not less than 60 degrees Celsius, in line with SOLAS. CFPP must be minus 15 degrees Celsius or lower. Greenhouse gas emissions intensity of 15.86 gCO2e/MJ with a minimum 83 per cent saving against fossil diesel, and biogenic carbon (C14) testing on all imports. Fuel is to be supplied on a non-obligated basis in line with the requirements for marine research use. The supplier is registered on the Maritime and Coastguard Agency Local Fuel Oil Suppliers Register as compliant with MARPOL Annex VI, and is registered on the Central Digital Platform with a current Public Procurement Organisation Number. At the time of each bunkering the supplier must provide the fuel specification, representative fuel samples, a Technical Data Sheet with Certificate of Analysis, and a Safety Data Sheet to the Chief Engineer. A Bunker Delivery Note must be provided in the MARPOL Annex VI Appendix V format, stating quantity in metric tonnes, carrying the supplier's signed declaration that the fuel meets the fuel quality requirements of MARPOL Annex VI Regulation 18, together with the sulphur content statement and the flash point statement. A representative MARPOL fuel sample must be drawn, labelled and sealed in accordance with MARPOL Annex VI. The following sustainability documentation is required for each delivery: proof of sustainability of the biofuel component, certified under either ISCC or RFAS 2 Heat-Power-Marine (RSB is not required), a biofuel delivery statement, and the greenhouse gas emissions data for the fuel supplied. The requirement was competed through a competitive quotation exercise on a best and final basis. Suppliers were invited to price each delivery on the basis that it might be awarded alone, and separately to price both deliveries taken together, and were permitted to bid for one delivery only without disadvantage. Award is made on the basis of the Most Advantageous Tender, tested by comparing the aggregate of the individual delivery prices against the price offered for both deliveries together. Award of both deliveries to a single supplier is the most advantageous outcome available. A transparency notice was published in advance of this notice under reference 2026PRNOC-1244.

Looking for work in this area? Create a free worker profile

Contract information is aggregated from public sources under the Open Government Licence and may be incomplete or out of date. Always verify details against the official published notice before bidding.

Analysis tools

What you can run here depends on your plan. Starter accounts get a taster, Pro and Business unlock the full set.

Match score

See how well this contract fits your company profile, scored 0 to 100 with a plain-English breakdown. Included with Pro and Business.

Create an account

Tender X-Ray

A plain-English breakdown of this notice: what the buyer wants, the evaluation criteria and weightings, what you must prove, and what could disqualify you.

Analyse any tender free: create an account

How you'll be scored

The buyer's scoring criteria and weightings for this notice, how well your profile covers each one, and which weighted gaps to close first. Included with Pro and Business.

Create an account

Bid Co-Pilot

Paste a bid question and the Co-Pilot drafts an answer from your own company profile and Answer Library, scores it against the criterion, and lists the evidence you still need. It never invents clients, figures or certifications. Included with Pro and Business, with a monthly allowance.

Create an account

Should I bid?

A clear BID / CONSIDER / DO NOT BID verdict for this notice, with the reasons behind it. Included with Pro and Business.

Create an account

Bid Pack for this contract

One-off · £349

Get Bid Pack (£349)

An auto-generated draft bid document for this notice: a response to the stated requirements, a Social Value statement, a Modern Slavery policy statement, and an SQ-style company overview.

This is a strong starting draft, generated automatically from your inputs and the published notice. It is not a guaranteed winning submission. You are responsible for reviewing, finalising, and checking it against the buyer's full requirements before you submit.

One-off payment. Your draft is generated as soon as your payment is confirmed.

An automated first draft, not a guaranteed win. You are responsible for reviewing and finalising it.

Original government notice

Create a free account to view the original government notice.

Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. 123 Tenders is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or acting on behalf of any buyer organisation named in these notices, and gives no guarantee as to accuracy or outcome.