Coventry University - PSDS-Energy Network
Coventry University
- Value
- £9,804,107
- Currency
- GBP
- Region
- UK wide
- Category
- Energy & Utilities
- Procedure / notice type
- award,contract
- Published
- 13 Nov 2025
- Closing date
- Not stated
- Contract ends
- Not stated
- Current supplier
- Coventry District Energy Company Limited
Overview
Coventry University has successfully secured funding from the Public Sector Decarbonisation Scheme (PSDS round 3c) to connect several of its major buildings to a local existing low-carbon district energy network and install ancillary energy efficiency improvements. The university has made the strategic decision to engage Bring Energy, trading as Coventry District Energy Company (CDEC), for the comprehensive design, supply, and installation of this innovative decarbonisation project. The project will connect five groups of university buildings to the existing district energy network for the supply of hot water for space heating and the provision of domestic hot water, with the potential for the subsequent future connection of nearby university buildings. The university has chosen to award the project to CDEC due to the following compelling reasons: • Unique expertise and existing infrastructure: Bring Energy (CDEC), formerly known as Equans, holds an exclusive 25-year concession agreement awarded by the local authority in 2012 to operate the Coventry District Energy Network (CDEN). Their network-specific expertise and operation of the established network infrastructure in Coventry are key factors in ensuring the success of this project. • Integration and minimal disruption: CDEC's expertise and experience in the operation of the existing CDEN ensures that the connection of university buildings can be achieved in an efficient and timely manner, minimising potential disruption during the construction phase and in the case of any future maintenance requirements. • Time critical delivery: the university has set stringent timelines for the project completion (design commencing August 2024, phased installation from February 2025 to February 2026) to ensure compliance with the PSDS funding requirements. CDEC's familiarity with the local network and expertise in district heating projects significantly reduces design, permitting, and construction timelines when compared to an alternative supplier without specific knowledge of the existing district energy network. As a result of the above Bring Energy trading as Coventry District Energy Company are considered to be the only contractor able to meet the needs of this project brief within the timeframe and provide the end-to-end solution and added value to this critical projec
Looking for work in this area? Create a free worker profile
Contract information is aggregated from public sources under the Open Government Licence and may be incomplete or out of date. Always verify details against the official published notice before bidding.
Analysis tools
What you can run here depends on your plan. Free accounts get a taster, Pro and Business unlock the full set.
Match score
See how well this contract fits your company profile, scored 0 to 100 with a plain-English breakdown. Included with Pro and Business.
Create an accountTender X-Ray
A plain-English breakdown of this notice: what the buyer wants, the evaluation criteria and weightings, what you must prove, and what could disqualify you.
Analyse any tender free: create an accountHow you'll be scored
The buyer's scoring criteria and weightings for this notice, how well your profile covers each one, and which weighted gaps to close first. Included with Pro and Business.
Create an accountBid Co-Pilot
Paste a bid question and the Co-Pilot drafts an answer from your own company profile and Answer Library, scores it against the criterion, and lists the evidence you still need. It never invents clients, figures or certifications. Included with Pro and Business, with a monthly allowance.
Create an accountHave the full tender pack? Open the bid workspace to read the pack, check the gates and answer every question.
Should I bid?
A clear BID / CONSIDER / DO NOT BID verdict for this notice, with the reasons behind it. Included with Pro and Business.
Create an accountBid Pack for this contract
Get Bid Pack (£349)
An auto-generated draft bid document for this notice: a response to the stated requirements, a Social Value statement, a Modern Slavery policy statement, and an SQ-style company overview.
This is a strong starting draft, generated automatically from your inputs and the published notice. It is not a guaranteed winning submission. You are responsible for reviewing, finalising, and checking it against the buyer's full requirements before you submit.
One-off payment. Your draft is generated as soon as your payment is confirmed.
An automated first draft, not a guaranteed win. You are responsible for reviewing and finalising it.
Original government notice
Create a free account to view the original government notice.
Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. 123 Tenders is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or acting on behalf of any buyer organisation named in these notices, and gives no guarantee as to accuracy or outcome.
