← Back to Browse Contracts
Health & Social CareSouth WestSource: Find a Tender

NHS Bristol, North Somerset, South Gloucestershire Integrated Care Board (ICB) for the provision of Enhanced Imaging Referral Service

NHS BRISTOL, NORTH SOMERSET AND SOUTH GLOUCESTERSHIRE INTEGRATED CARE BOARD

Value
£35,000
Currency
GBP
Region
South West
Category
Health & Social Care
Procedure / notice type
award,contract
Published
19 Jun 2026
Closing date
Not stated
Contract ends
Not stated

Overview

This is an Intention to Award Notice to award a contract using the Direct award C process under the Provider Selection Regime (PSR) regulations for NHS Bristol, North Somerset, South Gloucestershire Integrated Care Board (ICB) for the provision of Enhanced Imaging Referral Service. Community optometrists refer via a UHBW email which is triaged by the Hospital Trust clinical team, but there is no functionality to attach a full set of retinal images obtained by optical coherence tomography (OCT) scan, meaning all patients need to be seen face to face at University Hospitals Bristol NHS Foundation Trust. The Enhanced Imaging Referral Service pathway provides a digital solution to this issue. The Enhanced Imaging Referral Service pathway is evidence-based and uses best practice guidance to improve the patient journey and clinical and cost-effectiveness for medical retina referrals. It will also capture quality and performance information. This should lead to a reduction in unnecessary referrals, releasing much needed secondary care appointments, ensuring patients are seen by the right service, at the right time and fully informed at point of referral. The enhanced imaging referral service should shift some parts of the existing pathway into primary care, closer to the patient. Providers across both primary and secondary care should work together to improve patient outcomes for patients being referred using this pathway. The service is an end-to-end pathway across primary and secondary care utilising the skills of primary care optometrists, but delivering a more sustainable healthcare pathway closer to the patient by robustly integrating primary and secondary care. Following on from a pilot scheme which was extended for a further 12 months which is due to end on 30th June 2026. To maintain continuity of service while ensuring the future model reflects local need, a time-limited direct award is proposed. This engagement will inform a subsequent competitive procurement to be lead by UHBW for a refreshed service model. This approach supports fair and transparent commissioning while ensuring that future service design is informed. The contract period is 1st July 2026 to 31st March 2027. The total combined contract value is £35,000 (ex VAT) The publication of this notice marks the start of the standstill period. Representations by providers must be made to decision makers by midnight 30th June 2026. This exercise was carried out by NHS BNSSG Integrated care board, supported by NHS South Central and West Commissioning Support Unit (SCW), along with the publication of this notice.

Looking for work in this area? Create a free worker profile

Contract information is aggregated from public sources under the Open Government Licence and may be incomplete or out of date. Always verify details against the official published notice before bidding.

Analysis tools

What you can run here depends on your plan. Free accounts get a taster, Pro and Business unlock the full set.

Match score

See how well this contract fits your company profile, scored 0 to 100 with a plain-English breakdown. Included with Pro and Business.

Create an account

Tender X-Ray

A plain-English breakdown of this notice: what the buyer wants, the evaluation criteria and weightings, what you must prove, and what could disqualify you.

Analyse any tender free: create an account

How you'll be scored

The buyer's scoring criteria and weightings for this notice, how well your profile covers each one, and which weighted gaps to close first. Included with Pro and Business.

Create an account

Bid Co-Pilot

Paste a bid question and the Co-Pilot drafts an answer from your own company profile and Answer Library, scores it against the criterion, and lists the evidence you still need. It never invents clients, figures or certifications. Included with Pro and Business, with a monthly allowance.

Create an account

Have the full tender pack? Open the bid workspace to read the pack, check the gates and answer every question.

Should I bid?

A clear BID / CONSIDER / DO NOT BID verdict for this notice, with the reasons behind it. Included with Pro and Business.

Create an account

Bid Pack for this contract

One-off · £349

Get Bid Pack (£349)

An auto-generated draft bid document for this notice: a response to the stated requirements, a Social Value statement, a Modern Slavery policy statement, and an SQ-style company overview.

This is a strong starting draft, generated automatically from your inputs and the published notice. It is not a guaranteed winning submission. You are responsible for reviewing, finalising, and checking it against the buyer's full requirements before you submit.

One-off payment. Your draft is generated as soon as your payment is confirmed.

An automated first draft, not a guaranteed win. You are responsible for reviewing and finalising it.

Original government notice

Create a free account to view the original government notice.

Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. 123 Tenders is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or acting on behalf of any buyer organisation named in these notices, and gives no guarantee as to accuracy or outcome.